TonidoPlug2 console access?

Support for your TonidoPlug
Materdaddy
Regular Tonidoid
Regular Tonidoid
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:45 pm

Re: TonidoPlug2 console access?

Postby Materdaddy » Fri Oct 21, 2011 12:15 pm

Also, the FTDI cable is popular because it goes straight from USB to TTL.

That means that instead of two adapters (one taking you from USB to RS232, and another taking RS232 to TTL), you only need one to get proper access on your tonidoplug.

Adafruit sells one I have used successfully in linux many times in the past at a reasonable price: http://adafruit.com/products/70

User avatar
madhan
Admin Tonidoid
Admin Tonidoid
Posts: 8617
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:13 am
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: TonidoPlug2 console access?

Postby madhan » Fri Oct 21, 2011 12:38 pm

Great to know. Thanks for sharing. I am sure this will help a lot of our users.

Paladine
Regular Tonidoid
Regular Tonidoid
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:57 pm

Re: TonidoPlug2 console access?

Postby Paladine » Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:17 pm

Thanks. I have one on order from eBay, but maybe this cable would work. Seems similar

http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.ph ... inkstation

UrbanVoyeur
Tonido MVP
Tonido MVP
Posts: 321
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:20 pm

Re: TonidoPlug2 console access?

Postby UrbanVoyeur » Fri Nov 11, 2011 5:52 pm


expenguinbasher
Veteran Tonidoid
Veteran Tonidoid
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:23 am
Location: UK

Re: TonidoPlug2 console access?

Postby expenguinbasher » Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:00 am


UrbanVoyeur
Tonido MVP
Tonido MVP
Posts: 321
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:20 pm

Re: TonidoPlug2 console access?

Postby UrbanVoyeur » Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:16 am

It should work with the SATA and USB drives installed. Have you tried the console without the drive in place? Have you tried re-partitioning the SATA drive?

expenguinbasher
Veteran Tonidoid
Veteran Tonidoid
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:23 am
Location: UK

Re: TonidoPlug2 console access?

Postby expenguinbasher » Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:57 am

The SATA is partitioned as default having built it using the boot from usb process. Don't really want to mess with it, as it is my dev environment. It works without the SATA, just boots from NAND, but also does with the SATA in. Just connecting the console to the USB on my laptop seems to kill the running system if it is on SATA, so I wonder if it is an issue with the adaptor. Although it was recommended in different thread. The reason being that I could get into a crashed plug to see what was going on, so the idea would be to be able to connect the adaptor to a running plug......

UrbanVoyeur
Tonido MVP
Tonido MVP
Posts: 321
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:20 pm

Re: TonidoPlug2 console access?

Postby UrbanVoyeur » Thu Oct 18, 2012 7:34 pm


marioscube
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 341
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:42 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: TonidoPlug2 console access?

Postby marioscube » Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:39 am

I agree with UrbanVoyeur.

Connecting via USB to a PC/Laptop after boot might be possible (with the serial adapter connected to the Plug).

expenguinbasher
Veteran Tonidoid
Veteran Tonidoid
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:23 am
Location: UK

Re: TonidoPlug2 console access?

Postby expenguinbasher » Tue Oct 23, 2012 3:12 am



Return to “TonidoPlug Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests