New user: How do I start a new instance on the same computer

Support for Tonido on the Desktop including Windows/Mac/Linux
jmatienza
Rookie Tonidoid
Rookie Tonidoid
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:24 am

New user: How do I start a new instance on the same computer

Postby jmatienza » Thu Apr 01, 2010 7:32 am

Hello, everyone! I'm a new user of Tonido; just installed on my laptop a couple of days ago. I'm very excited about learning to use Tonido; it seems to be the answer to all my concerns about publishing personal information to third-party servers. (Well, I did or am trying out AltME as well; it's incredibly lightweight and can run off a USB stick, but Tonido's browser-based GUI and the included applications probably won me over.)

I'm looking now for instructions on how to create a new instance of Tonido that is concurrent with one that's already running. I read on tonidouser that concurrent instances can run but each instance needs a different http port. I have no idea what that means. On AltME all one needs to do is to log on to each "safeworld" one needs to run concurrently, and it's done.

Could someone point me to step by step instructions?

Thanks!

Jim

User avatar
madhan
Admin Tonidoid
Admin Tonidoid
Posts: 8617
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:13 am
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: New user: How do I start a new instance on the same computer

Postby madhan » Thu Apr 01, 2010 8:59 am

Tonido is also pretty lightweight and can run from a USB drive too.

To setup two instances you need to follow these instructions and setup two folders with Tonido. http://www.tonido.com/help/

Then in one of these folders after running Tonido, open configex.xml and change the HTTPPort value to something else like 10002.

jmatienza
Rookie Tonidoid
Rookie Tonidoid
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:24 am

Re: New user: How do I start a new instance on the same computer

Postby jmatienza » Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:38 am

Thanks for your reply!

Sorry to be so slow, but...what instructions? The link you provided led to the Introduction page of the Tonido online help. I have already tried searching it, but I could not find instructions on "folders", changing the http port, or starting two instances.

I tried logging on to both my accounts (in turn) and changing the http port from the Settings page, but I noticed that changing the port in one account changes it on the other as well.

Thanking you in advance for your patience,

Jim

User avatar
madhan
Admin Tonidoid
Admin Tonidoid
Posts: 8617
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:13 am
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: New user: How do I start a new instance on the same computer

Postby madhan » Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:57 am


neato
Super Tonidoid
Super Tonidoid
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 12:26 am

Re: New user: How do I start a new instance on the same computer

Postby neato » Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:41 am

Just got TonidoPlug a couple days ago...very cool. I am playing with creating multiple instances of Tonido on the same computer. I followed the instructions for installing Tonido on a usb drive by

1. copying the /root/app/tonido directory to a mounted external usb ext3 partition in the directory /media/disk1part4/nanette

2. deleting the approot directory from /media/disk1part4/nanette/tonido

3. editing the localconfig.xml file by replacing 'approot' with 'appnanette'

4. executing /media/disk1part4/nanette/tonido/tonido.sh start

5. editing the configex.xml file and changing the http port to 10002

At this point I'm lost as to how to access this new instance. Ideally it would be <localIP>:10002 but this does not work. What do I do next, or is this possible?

Thanks for the excellent support forum. You guys are doing an awesome job.

User avatar
madhan
Admin Tonidoid
Admin Tonidoid
Posts: 8617
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:13 am
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: New user: How do I start a new instance on the same computer

Postby madhan » Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:49 pm

Could you clarify if you are trying to run 2 instances of tonido on the tonidoplug or a desktop?

neato
Super Tonidoid
Super Tonidoid
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 12:26 am

Re: New user: How do I start a new instance on the same computer

Postby neato » Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:31 am

I am trying to run two instances on the Tonido plug. One instance is in /root/app/tonido, and the other is in /media/disk1part4/nanette/app/tonido.

User avatar
madhan
Admin Tonidoid
Admin Tonidoid
Posts: 8617
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:13 am
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: New user: How do I start a new instance on the same computer

Postby madhan » Tue Dec 28, 2010 8:47 pm

Does the second instance start up after you start it?

Change the UDP port in the configex.xml in the /media/disk1part4/nanette/app/tonido directory to some other number, else you will have a conflict and tonido won't start.

1. What is the output of :
ps -ef | grep tonido


2. Can you post the tonido.log file from your /media/disk1part4/nanette/app/tonido logs directory.

neato
Super Tonidoid
Super Tonidoid
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 12:26 am

Re: New user: How do I start a new instance on the same computer

Postby neato » Wed Dec 29, 2010 2:01 am

Thanks for your help madhan.

The second instance appears to start up.
root@TonidoPlug:/media/disk1part4/Nanette/app/tonido# ./tonido.sh start
Starting Tonido Service:root@TonidoPlug:/media/disk1part4/Nanette/app/tonido# nohup: redirecting stderr to stdout


The UDP of the two instances are different. Tonido took care of this when I started the second instance the first time. It created the configex.xml file and generated a UDP different from the first instance.

The output of ps -ef | grep tonido is
root 2441 1 2 22:24 pts/0 00:00:00 ./tonidoconsole
root 2472 1684 0 22:25 pts/0 00:00:00 grep tonido
root 13740 1 0 Dec27 ? 00:00:00 /bin/bash /root/app/tonido/tonidod
root 13746 13740 0 Dec27 ? 00:00:00 su root -c ( cd /root/app/tonido && export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=. &&? /root/app/tonido/tonidoconsole 1>/tmp/tonido_root.log ||/root/app/tonido/plugscripts/ledcontrol.sh 1 )
root 13747 13746 0 Dec27 ? 00:00:00 bash -c ( cd /root/app/tonido && export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=. &&? /root/app/tonido/tonidoconsole 1>/tmp/tonido_root.log ||/root/app/tonido/plugscripts/ledcontrol.sh 1 )
root 13748 13747 0 Dec27 ? 00:00:00 bash -c ( cd /root/app/tonido && export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=. &&? /root/app/tonido/tonidoconsole 1>/tmp/tonido_root.log ||/root/app/tonido/plugscripts/ledcontrol.sh 1 )
root 13749 13748 1 Dec27 ? 00:41:38 /root/app/tonido/tonidoconsole
I'm not sure if I should expect a process to originate from /media/disk1part4/Nanette/app/tonido as well as /root/app/tonido. If so I don't see it.

The tonido.log file from the second instance is
22:24:35:766 [1] [AppStarter]:T: ***********STARTING*****TONIDO**********
22:24:35:768 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Tonido Working Directory: /media/disk1part4/Nanette/app/tonido
22:24:35:768 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Running on OS : Linux
22:24:35:769 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Running on OS Version : 2.6.34
22:24:35:769 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Running on OS Arch : armv5tel
22:24:35:769 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Running System Version : 2.12.0.12708
22:24:35:769 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Running Message Version : 0.0.0.1
22:24:35:770 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Built on : Nov 19 2010
22:24:35:770 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Using AppRoot : appnanette
22:24:35:770 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Host Name : TonidoPlug
22:24:35:770 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Mac Address : <not showing>
22:24:35:771 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Using DomainListURL : http://info.codelathe.com/domainlist/domainlist.xml
22:24:35:771 [1] [AppStarter]:T: DomainListLoader:: DomainList loaded recently, skipping!
22:24:35:772 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Using PeerDomain : tonidoid.com
22:24:35:773 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [AppRoot ] = appnanette
22:24:35:773 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [DomainListURL ] = http://info.codelathe.com/domainlist/domainlist.xml
22:24:35:773 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [PluginListURL ] = http://patch.codelathe.com/tonido/live/ ... inlist.xml
22:24:35:773 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [RSSURL ] = http://info.codelathe.com/news/rssfeed.xml
22:24:35:774 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [RelayServiceURL] = https://store.tonido.com/api/relay/getrelay.php
22:24:35:774 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [UsageStatsURL ] = http://info.codelathe.com/stats/tonidousagestats.php
22:24:35:774 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [DefaultLanguage] = english
22:24:35:774 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [DomainServerPort] = 24465
22:24:35:775 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [EnableDNS ] = 0
22:24:35:775 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [EnableDomain ] = 0
22:24:35:775 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [EnableErrorLog ] = 1
22:24:35:775 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [HTTPProxyHost ] =
22:24:35:775 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [HTTPProxyPort ] = 80
22:24:35:776 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [HttpPort ] = 10002
22:24:35:776 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [KeepLog ] = 1 days
22:24:35:776 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [LAN_XFer_Size ] = 1024000
22:24:35:776 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [LogAsync ] = 1
22:24:35:777 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [LogLevel ] = information
22:24:35:777 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [MaxNetworkConnections] = 200
22:24:35:777 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [NetworkAccess ] = 1
22:24:35:777 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [NetworkInterface] = 0
22:24:35:777 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [RemoteAdmin ] = 1
22:24:35:778 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [UDPPort ] = 36138
22:24:35:778 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [WAN_XFer_Size ] = 51200
22:24:35:778 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [WebAccess ] = all
22:24:35:778 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [Domain ] = tonidoid.com
22:24:35:779 [1] [AppStarter]:I: [ErrorLogRoot ] = appnanette/logs/errorlogs
22:24:35:901 [1] [AppStarter]:I: ==== LICENSE INFO =====
22:24:35:901 [1] [AppStarter]:I: ==== LICENSE INFO =====
22:24:35:946 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Loaded Po File english.po with 1049 strings successfully!
22:24:35:948 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Setting language to english
22:24:35:986 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Loaded Po File english.po with 1049 strings successfully!
22:24:36:092 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Starting Tonido HTTP Server on 0.0.0.0:10002
22:24:36:100 [12] [Lookup]:I: Starting UDP using 0.0.0.0:36138:36138
22:24:36:103 [1] [AppStarter]:E: Failed to locate plugin: libdomain.so
22:24:36:103 [1] [AppStarter]:W: Unable to load Domain Plugin. Continuing..
22:24:36:103 [1] [AppStarter]:E: Failed to locate plugin: librelay.so
22:24:36:103 [1] [AppStarter]:W: Unable to load Relay Plugin. Continuing..
22:24:36:127 [1] [AppStarter]:I: Loaded Po File english.po with 305 strings successfully!
22:24:36:862 [1] [AppStarter]:E: Unable to Login with Profile Credentials!
I'm confused about the 0.0.0.0 address. My impression is the three errors are normal.

User avatar
madhan
Admin Tonidoid
Admin Tonidoid
Posts: 8617
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:13 am
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: New user: How do I start a new instance on the same computer

Postby madhan » Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:30 pm

From your log it appears tonido does seem to start properly.
So I am not sure why it doesn't start up.
What error do you get when you try your plug'sIP http://192.xxxx:10002


Return to “Tonido Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests