Song truncated on iphone/iPad app -- any reason why?

Support for Tonido on Mobile including iPhone, Blackberry, Android and mobile devices
maser
Veteran Tonidoid
Veteran Tonidoid
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 5:31 pm

Song truncated on iphone/iPad app -- any reason why?

Postby maser » Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:22 am

I was playing a bunch of music with Tonido (before installing the recent 5.8.0 server update) over the weekend. While I was doing this, I notice that a few (and *very few -- maybe just 1-2*) songs seemed to be truncated while playing them. I thought maybe this was just a network glitch, but I made a note of the last one that did this: my copy (iTunes 128 .m4a ripped) of the Offspring's Greatest Hits.

The last song on the disk -- is truncated by Tonido.

In iTunes, the song is 5:56.

However, in Tonido, the song is only 5:07.

(I did not remember to write down the other song that was truncated as I thought it was a one-time glitch, but this one was not...)

I have installed the 5.80 server update (and the 5.81 Mac application update) this morning, but my iPhone still shows this track as being truncated.


What is the best way to debug this?

Thanks!

maser
Veteran Tonidoid
Veteran Tonidoid
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: Song truncated on iphone/iPad app -- any reason why?

Postby maser » Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:26 am

(If you would like me to attach the song, please let me know...)

rydgaze
Tonido Team
Tonido Team
Posts: 1354
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:26 pm

Re: Song truncated on iphone/iPad app -- any reason why?

Postby rydgaze » Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:28 am

The number is read from the ID3 tag. But when it is playing, the actual size will be used based on the size/bitrate. So the tag itself might be wrong.

Tonido simply allows the iOS's native player to access the file. The the actual size is always calculated directly by the player. We can check it if you can attach the song and we can try it with the debugger.

maser
Veteran Tonidoid
Veteran Tonidoid
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: Song truncated on iphone/iPad app -- any reason why?

Postby maser » Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:29 am

OK. Here is the song directly from my iTunes Library. I own this CD so I could re-rip the track for other testing purposes if need be.

maser
Veteran Tonidoid
Veteran Tonidoid
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: Song truncated on iphone/iPad app -- any reason why?

Postby maser » Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:31 am

Whoops, apparently, you can not directly attach an .m4a file to the forum.

And, if I .zip the file and try to attach it, I get this:

The file is too big, maximum allowed size is 4 MiB.


How can I get you a copy of this track?

rydgaze
Tonido Team
Tonido Team
Posts: 1354
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:26 pm

Re: Song truncated on iphone/iPad app -- any reason why?

Postby rydgaze » Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:01 am


maser
Veteran Tonidoid
Veteran Tonidoid
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: Song truncated on iphone/iPad app -- any reason why?

Postby maser » Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:15 am

I believe the .m4a file has been uploaded to you correctly. (the web interface never refreshed after I uploaded it, but when I went back to it, the file looks like it is there.) If you didn't get the file I uploaded, let me know and I'll try again.

rydgaze
Tonido Team
Tonido Team
Posts: 1354
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:26 pm

Re: Song truncated on iphone/iPad app -- any reason why?

Postby rydgaze » Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:28 am

Yes. Got the file. we will check this. I do see it as 5:53 in itunes. Will check in system.

maser
Veteran Tonidoid
Veteran Tonidoid
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: Song truncated on iphone/iPad app -- any reason why?

Postby maser » Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:33 am

Just FYI -- the attached is how I see it on my iPhone
Attachments
photo.PNG
photo.PNG (331.97 KiB) Viewed 5396 times

rydgaze
Tonido Team
Tonido Team
Posts: 1354
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:26 pm

Re: Song truncated on iphone/iPad app -- any reason why?

Postby rydgaze » Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:53 am

I checked this file on both iOS and android and I see it is showing the right size in my case! I am using Windows backend server .

What backend are you using? Are you forcing transcoding?
Attachments
Anis's iPhone-img_1806.png
Anis's iPhone-img_1806.png (131.13 KiB) Viewed 5394 times


Return to “Tonido on Mobile”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests