Review of the Tonido iPhone app posted on MacRumors Forums

Support for Tonido on Mobile including iPhone, Blackberry, Android and mobile devices
DanTN
Rookie Tonidoid
Rookie Tonidoid

Review of the Tonido iPhone app posted on MacRumors Forums

Postby DanTN » Fri Feb 04, 2011 3:29 pm

Here is a review of the Tonido iPhone app I posted over at the MacRumors forum:

Ok, here are a few of my thoughts about the Tonido ios app.

I think [the app] really is essential for me to use the Tonidoplug since I spend most of my time away from home without access to my computer. I think the functionality is great but the interface (GUI?) needs a little polishing to make the app more intuitive.

Here is what I would change:

1. On the login screen under the "Advanced" tab, the options for "Offline access only" should be "Yes or No" not "On or Off"

2. The "Home" screen should have a "Log Out" button in the upper left side of the screen. As a newbie I didn't know you had to go to the "Settings" screen to log out of the program and return to the first login screen. I think the "Switch" button in the upper right of the "Tonido Settings" screen should be renamed "Log Out".

3. The search bar should always appear by default on every screen. Users can always push it up if they don't want to look at it.

4. Users should be made aware that the search function isn't a global search function. In other words it is not like the "Spotlight" search on a Mac where you can search for every single instance of a word on my whole computer. Somehow you should make users aware that it functions more like a sort button - searching only what is on the current screen and not searching through subfolders. At first I thought there was a bug in the software when it wasn't searching through all of the subfolders.

5. I am not sure what the "x" button does on the music player.