How to setup a build environment on plug2

Support for your TonidoPlug
pmcallihan
Super Tonidoid
Super Tonidoid
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 2:52 pm

How to setup a build environment on plug2

Postby pmcallihan » Wed Nov 02, 2011 8:36 pm

I've built minidlna cvs and transmission 2.42 on my plug2. Do this I needed access to for multimedia libs and a solid build system. Thought I'd share that with those interested. Of course, the responsibility for you doing this undertaking is your responsibility. I am only sharing an experience.

YOU MUST HAVE YOUR SYSTEM BOOTED USB OR SATA. DON'T DO THIS WITH A TONIDOPLUG2 ON INTERNAL TONIDO SOFTWARE.

My System booted is on 500GB sata. I recommend being on a hard drive or a really big and fast usb. Hard drive on the usb port should be ok.

These instuctions will provide access to the debian-multimedia repository, upgrade the software to the latest debian-squeeze and install a full software build system.

As in the Christmas Story. Don't shoot your eye out with this bb gun. This is the backbone for a real development system and access to libraries that can cripple your plug2 or do many wonderful things. what'a bb gun. here we go!

1. ssh on as root
ssh <your ip> -l root
after you enter your password, hopefully you will be on the root directory of the plug2. the "pwd" command will tell you.

2. make a directory called src
mkdir src
cd src
pwd should say /root/src
we will work from here and stay away from the app directory on root. it's important.

3. Get the repository key for the debian-multimedia repository.
wget install http://www.debian-multimedia.org/pool/m ... 26_all.deb.

4. Install the repository key.
dpkg -i debian-multimedia-keyring_2010.12.26_all.deb

5. Open the apt source.list file with your favorite editor vi or nano. I used nano. So my command is
nano /etc/apt/source.list
We are going add this line
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org squeeze main non-free
to the end of the file. this is my complete source.list file.

deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ squeeze main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ squeeze/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org squeeze main non-free

save and close the file.

6. now we will update our software packages.
apt-get update
this will take a minute or so.

7. now we will upgrade are system to the most current packages.
apt-get upgrade
this will take 5 minutes or so.
if this hiccups, run it till it completes cleanly.

8. now we will install a complete build system.
apt-get install build-essential automake autoconf libtool pkg-config intltool
this will take 5 minutes or so.

we are done! this give you the ability to build those packages you can't find.

if this has been interesting and tonido doesn't run me off. i'll come back with the how to from transmission and minidlna. i know i can get serviio to run, i just hate to install apache.

User avatar
madhan
Admin Tonidoid
Admin Tonidoid
Posts: 8617
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:13 am
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: How to setup a build environment on plug2

Postby madhan » Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:03 pm

This is fantastic. :-)
You might want to add this as a link from http://tonidouser.com/doku.php

zeroday
Super Tonidoid
Super Tonidoid
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 10:24 am
Location: http://www.aroundmyroom.com

Re: How to setup a build environment on plug2

Postby zeroday » Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:44 am

I understand the info but one thing is a little unclear

you wrote:
YOU MUST HAVE YOUR SYSTEM BOOTED USB OR SATA. DON'T DO THIS WITH A TONIDOPLUG2 ON INTERNAL TONIDO SOFTWARE.


So it's a build environment for plug2 but I cannot do this on the tonidplug2
it's a little wierd to me. How should I be able to achieve this one TP2? I have a SATA HDD inside
I only added a permanent NFS connection to 8TB storage and swap on the sata disk

pmcallihan
Super Tonidoid
Super Tonidoid
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 2:52 pm

Re: How to setup a build environment on plug2

Postby pmcallihan » Thu Nov 03, 2011 4:59 pm

i'm sure it's me being unclear. all i'm saying is don't do this against the device firmware and void your warantee. plug2 is my shorthand for tonidoplug2. by the way i added lamp (linux, apache, mysql, php) and python-minimal to my development system.

UrbanVoyeur
Tonido MVP
Tonido MVP
Posts: 321
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:20 pm

Re: How to setup a build environment on plug2

Postby UrbanVoyeur » Mon Nov 07, 2011 7:46 pm

@pmcallihan

Thanks. I'd be interested to see your how to on building Transmission 2.42

UrbanVoyeur
Tonido MVP
Tonido MVP
Posts: 321
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:20 pm

Re: How to setup a build environment on plug2

Postby UrbanVoyeur » Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:28 am

madhan wrote:This is fantastic. :-)
You might want to add this as a link from http://tonidouser.com/doku.php

I put this in the Tonido User wiki here: http://www.tonidouser.com/doku.php?id=a ... nvironment


Return to “TonidoPlug Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests