Page 2 of 3

Re: Tonido plug no longer works.

Posted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 1:09 pm
by Tuxedo
I'm very sorry you don't believe me.
I agree updating should not have rendered the plug useless.
But it did.
Direct after updating the app's couldn't restart.

I believe you. All I am saying is we had code updates only to a process called tonido. There is no change made to the OS.

So what you are saying is:
If SSH does not work SSH into the plug.

To me that does not make any sense.

That will be totally senseless, wouldn't it.

The link I posted explains how to create bootable USB disk from Linux ( the author used plug as he used that to write the instructions). In the link I posted, follow steps 4 to 8 on any Linux system. At the end of step 8, you will have a usb disk that will be bootable and useable with tonidoplug 1.

Re: Tonido plug no longer works.

Posted: Tue Jan 28, 2014 10:54 am
by Wisperbird
Thanks for the explanation.
Basically there are to my mind two options.

1) I did something wrong when I updated the plug.
I just waited for it to finish and then wanted to resume the app's
Then it said failed to restart the app's. B.t.w. it was maybe a year ago.
The disk was full (plug v1) and my Plug v2 worked ok, so there was no urgent need to investigate.

2) The plug was working but had hardware problems.
So the update failed to finish properly.

I'll prepare a bootable disk and see what happens.
Where should I look for. I'm not a Linux expert.
Is it possible to re-flash the memory ?

Re: Tonido plug no longer works.

Posted: Tue Jan 28, 2014 10:28 pm
by madhan
See
http://www.tonido.com/communitywiki/doku.php?id=advanceduses:usbboot

Re: Tonido plug no longer works.

Posted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 3:28 am
by Wisperbird
madhan wrote:See
http://www.tonido.com/communitywiki/doku.php?id=advanceduses:usbboot

Yep, that's the one.
Tuxedo said something about the flash memory. I clicked on the part where it says to free memory
in admin disks. [cleanup space] That was before the update. So I believe it should be Ok.

Re: Tonido plug no longer works.

Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 12:30 pm
by Wisperbird
When I try:
wget http://www.tonido.com/downloads/plug/rootfs.tar.gz in root
I get "permission denied", can not write to 'rootfs.tar.gz'

I am able to download it but what do I do next.
It is just untar and which one first, or is there no sequence.
B.t.w. for some reason not able to untar.
Sure I am doing something wrong.

Re: Tonido plug no longer works.

Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 1:28 pm
by Wisperbird
I tried once more, and now I think I succeeded.
So how do I tell the plug to boot from this disk ??

Re: Tonido plug no longer works.

Posted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 4:47 am
by Wisperbird
Wisperbird wrote:I tried once more, and now I think I succeeded.
So how do I tell the plug to boot from this disk ??

Sorry but did not get a reply!
When I boot with the disk attached the led turns blue and stays that way.
When I try to connect it says; "unable to connect"
Plug is found using locate plug.

The plug does something I believe it schould not do. Let me explain.
I tried to boot the plug and connect an other drive. Then on that drive there are folders created, I assume the plug needs to function. So no problem there.
But It also creates the folder "Hallo" and here comes the faulty part.
All the folders in "Hallo" are empty. But what is worse, "Hallo" was a folder on my previous drive that is 2 tera. This drive only has 200 GB so there is no way it could fit on this drive.

So please help.

Re: Tonido plug no longer works.

Posted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:40 pm
by Wisperbird
Continued:

I have taken all hardware home. trying to access the HDD resulted in unknown file system in Gparted. So I am trying to restore it using gpart on Linux.

But the question now is;

Why the 'bleep" is the tonido plug accessing my drive as disk2/part1.
I know it was that before, but it is the only drive now.
Is it true that the plug will not work if you have Disk1/part1 no longer accessible.

I do not get the home page, what ever I try.

Please help

Re: Tonido plug no longer works.

Posted: Sat Mar 01, 2014 3:06 am
by Wisperbird
Continued 2:

What I do not understand is that on Tonido the drive (WD elements) was always displayed.
The folders were empty but there was no mention of "non accessible disk".
In WD data diagnostics it is not accessible.

So what it boils down to is. How do I get my plug to work, now that I do not have the original drive it worked with.

Please please, help.

Re: Tonido plug no longer works.

Posted: Sat Mar 01, 2014 4:06 am
by Wisperbird
Image

This is what I get. Why I also see root I do not know.