plug non-responsive

Support for your TonidoPlug
dongadoy
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 9:28 pm
Location: Framingham, MA, USA

plug non-responsive

Postby dongadoy » Wed Jul 13, 2011 8:48 am

I accessed my plug yesterday morning. But some time later, it stopped responding (Montastic is watching). I unplugged and replugged power but get nothing.
  • The top LED is steady green, but the bottom LED does not light up at all.
  • The network cable LEDs are on steady though they should blink with network activity.
  • The body of the plug is room temperature when it should be very warm.

What can I do? Is this the dreaded power supply failure even though some LEDs are lit?

User avatar
madhan
Admin Tonidoid
Admin Tonidoid
Posts: 8617
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:13 am
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: plug non-responsive

Postby madhan » Wed Jul 13, 2011 9:29 am

Are you able to connect via SSH to the plug? Restarted the plug?

dongadoy
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 9:28 pm
Location: Framingham, MA, USA

Re: plug non-responsive

Postby dongadoy » Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:15 pm

No SSH nor web, neither over internet nor local network. The router does not see the plug. I did unplug and replug power a couple of times. I unplugged on my way out this morning and will plug it back in when I return tonight, just to see if keeping it unplugged a while will help.

dongadoy
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 9:28 pm
Location: Framingham, MA, USA

Re: plug non-responsive

Postby dongadoy » Wed Jul 13, 2011 8:20 pm

No change after unplugging it for a day. I plugged in power; but only the power LED turns on. The other LED stays dark. No network activity. The plug stays cool.

What can I do? I depend on the little computer.

neato
Super Tonidoid
Super Tonidoid
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 12:26 am

Re: plug non-responsive

Postby neato » Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:52 am

Any luck getting it back on line? It sounds like a hardware issue. No good.

dongadoy
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 9:28 pm
Location: Framingham, MA, USA

Re: plug non-responsive

Postby dongadoy » Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:36 pm

No luck. If it was the power supply problem that others have experienced, I would expect no LED to light. It's not getting hot, so the processor must not be running. The Tonidoplug hardware is pretty much a black box - not really user serviceable - dump it and get a new one. Though bypassing the power supply with an external power supply sounds doable - if it's really a blown power supply.

hwest
Super Tonidoid
Super Tonidoid
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:51 pm

Re: plug non-responsive

Postby hwest » Fri Jul 22, 2011 8:11 am

My LED was lit a steady green and I had the failed Power supply. You have to open the plug to see. My Power supply looked all brown and melted. I had a friend help me put the external Power supply on in place of the blown internal supply and the Plug is up and running again. I bought the external supply on EBay for $5.99 with $5.99 shipping, But I know nothing about which wires are the positive and which are the negative etc. so I needed help.


Return to “TonidoPlug Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests