How to get https to work?

Support for Tonido on the Desktop including Windows/Mac/Linux
freshspinach
Rookie Tonidoid
Rookie Tonidoid
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 10:27 pm

How to get https to work?

Postby freshspinach » Sun Feb 22, 2015 10:32 pm

How do you get https to work with tonido? Running the latest version on Fedora. Accessing via http allows me to see shared files but I want better security.

User avatar
madhan
Admin Tonidoid
Admin Tonidoid
Posts: 8617
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:13 am
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: How to get https to work?

Postby madhan » Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:09 pm

If you are using relay, just typing https:// should just work.

freshspinach
Rookie Tonidoid
Rookie Tonidoid
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 10:27 pm

Re: How to get https to work?

Postby freshspinach » Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:13 pm

I should have specified that I would prefer to not use a relay. I have a static IP so do not have problems reaching my server.

User avatar
madhan
Admin Tonidoid
Admin Tonidoid
Posts: 8617
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:13 am
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: How to get https to work?

Postby madhan » Tue Feb 24, 2015 10:19 pm

Install the (Free) biz package
and follow instructions http://www.tonido.com/support/display/docs/Tonido+Biz

Shekesh
Rookie Tonidoid
Rookie Tonidoid
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 5:47 am

Re: How to get https to work?

Postby Shekesh » Sat Feb 28, 2015 5:57 am

Hello,

I tried the same, setting up SSL without relay but it just doesnt work.
I followed the guide you provided "To use your own SSL certificate for your domain name"
- Tonido runs on Raspberry Pi
- Relay is disabled
- SSL is enabled
- created own certificate (tested with openssl s_server)

Tonido just responds to http, but for https I always get an error, saying "ssl_error_rx_record_too_long" in every browser

I changed the log level to trace but can't get any hint in the logs.

Thanks in advance for your help.

User avatar
madhan
Admin Tonidoid
Admin Tonidoid
Posts: 8617
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:13 am
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: How to get https to work?

Postby madhan » Sun Mar 22, 2015 10:42 pm

Did you copy and paste the files from the biz package?

AndrewC75
Rookie Tonidoid
Rookie Tonidoid
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 10:42 am

Re: How to get https to work?

Postby AndrewC75 » Tue Mar 24, 2015 10:44 am

I am experiencing same issues. My install is Windows. Biz files are present in the %appdata%\Tonido folder. I am also using a verified key/cert pair. Although the SSL tick-box is checked and the config_pro.xml file verifies the setting, it appears the web server does not even attempt to start from https. It always starts as http.

What logs/configs may I provide?

brob2k1
Rookie Tonidoid
Rookie Tonidoid
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 6:13 pm

Re: How to get https to work?

Postby brob2k1 » Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:38 pm

Don't shoot me because I'm now to Tonido and have yet to actually install it as i'm still in the research phase. It looks like the "BIZ" version of the product has been discontinued. Does the existing version that is available for download support HTTPS? I could not find an answer in the install guide / etc. or by browsing through the different page. In addition, with the latest version are you required to use the relay server if you have a dedicated IP address for your home server?

Sreeja
Tonido Team
Tonido Team
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 4:25 am

Re: How to get https to work?

Postby Sreeja » Fri Jul 03, 2015 1:10 am

Yes, tonido works with https

Roman
Rookie Tonidoid
Rookie Tonidoid
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 7:30 am

Re: How to get https to work?

Postby Roman » Mon Jul 20, 2015 7:45 am

Hi, I have the same issue. Installed Tonido + BIZ on Raspberry with public IP. Using self-signed SSL certificate as a combination of private and public key as described here http://www.tonido.com/support/display/docs/Tonido+Biz.
Relay is disabled and enabled SSL. Nevertheless Tonido always starts as HTTP and not HTTPS.

Do I need to change value of ServerCertKey in config_pro.xml?

I also tried to use Apache HTTPS proxy to Tonido HTTP port as a workaround.
This works fine for remote web access, but the Tonido Sync client is unable to connect.


Return to “Tonido Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests