clipthots plugin not working in my setup

Support for Tonido on the Desktop including Windows/Mac/Linux
knireis
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 299
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:36 pm
Location: The Netherlands

clipthots plugin not working in my setup

Postby knireis » Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:39 am

I have configured clipthots and tonidofox correctly. The tonidofox symbol is orange. When i rightclick a site and select 'bookmark page to thots' nothing happens. Same when i select some text and select 'clip selection to thots'. I'm running tonido on a sheevaplug.
Also the tonidotorrent plugin is not working (see the torrent forum section)

rydgaze
Tonido Team
Tonido Team
Posts: 1354
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:26 pm

Re: clipthots plugin not working in my setup

Postby rydgaze » Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:17 am

Are the settings for TonidoFox and Clipthots the same (same IP, https checked or unchecked as required, port correct) ? The setting for TonidoFox does not apply to Clipthots and you would need to configure it seperately using its options menu (I know it will be good if we had one common setting, but the plugins are optional so we didnt make the FF plugin common).

knireis
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 299
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:36 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: clipthots plugin not working in my setup

Postby knireis » Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:32 am

yes, settings are identical

rydgaze
Tonido Team
Tonido Team
Posts: 1354
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:26 pm

Re: clipthots plugin not working in my setup

Postby rydgaze » Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:41 am

hmm. Pretty odd. The things that are usually wrong for a FF plugin are

1. IP/Port/Protocol (http/https) not configured correctly
2. Tonido not logged in
3. Plugin (clipthots) is disabled or uninstalled.

Lets test this out.

Can you issue
http://<your sheeva plug ip>:<tonido http port>/app/thots/addthotexternal?url=www.tonido.com

If it works, then it will respond with a string "ok". The browser will complain that it is not XML, but that is ok.

If it cannot access due to authentication or other issue, then a XML or communication failure will be displayed

knireis
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 299
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:36 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: clipthots plugin not working in my setup

Postby knireis » Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:46 am

result:
XML-parsefout: syntaxisfout
Locatie: http://jasper.tonidoid.com:10001/app/th ... tonido.com
Regelnummer 1, kolom 1:
OK
^

rydgaze
Tonido Team
Tonido Team
Posts: 1354
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:26 pm

Re: clipthots plugin not working in my setup

Postby rydgaze » Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:39 am

hmm. that means it worked fine (That is the same call the plugin does to add bookmark). you can confirm that www.tonido.com is in your bookmark. I cant see why the plugin doesnt like it.. any chance you have https option checked ?

knireis
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 299
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:36 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: clipthots plugin not working in my setup

Postby knireis » Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:01 pm

http://www.tonido.com is in the bookmark section, so that worked. It is not 'clickable' though (i don't know if that should be)
https is not checked

rydgaze
Tonido Team
Tonido Team
Posts: 1354
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:26 pm

Re: clipthots plugin not working in my setup

Postby rydgaze » Wed Nov 18, 2009 5:57 pm

We can try to see if Thots is even sending the command frmo Tonido log.
Before we can do that, the tonido trace level should be increased.

Change the Log level to "trace" using Tonido Admin->Settings ->ActivityLog->Tonido Log Level
Tonido need not be restarted.
Tail -f tonido.log file (This should be present in your tonido/data/logs/ directory).

Then using clipthots, try to bookmark a page.

If the plugin is able to send the request, you will see something like
+ 10908 16:51:11:515 [56] [TCPServerConnection (default[#36])]:T: HTTP Request [127.0.0.1] [POST] [/app/thots/addthotexternal?url=http%3A%2F%2Ftonido.com%2Fforum%2Fviewtopic.php%3Ff%3D27%26t%3D510]

Can you check if there an error or something generated there?

I still cant understand why the command using browser works while the firefox plugin has error. Just to confirm, you are using the newest clipthots plugin..right?

rydgaze
Tonido Team
Tonido Team
Posts: 1354
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:26 pm

Re: clipthots plugin not working in my setup

Postby rydgaze » Wed Nov 18, 2009 5:59 pm

knireis wrote:http://www.tonido.com is in the bookmark section, so that worked. It is not 'clickable' though (i don't know if that should be)
https is not checked



This is intriguing too. The www.tonido.com should be a clicky in the bookmarks section.

knireis
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 299
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:36 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: clipthots plugin not working in my setup

Postby knireis » Thu Nov 19, 2009 1:39 am

when i create manual a link like www.youtube.com it is not clickable either


Return to “Tonido Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests