What Everybody Ought to Know About facebook’s Terms of Service ?

Anybody who has a facebook account (that includes us) or planning  to open a new account  should be concerned about certain details in facebook’s Terms of Service. Check out the highlighted area of facebook’s TOS. What it really means is that – ” Facebook literally owns all your user content even if you delete your  profile”.

facebooktos1

So what does the user content  mean according to facebook?

Pretty much any data you have uploaded or posted to facebook.

facebooktos11

I guess i need to start praying now.

3 Responses

  1. ramakrishna says:

    that’s ridiculous. This will prove costly for the Face book if they cant edit the TOS .

  2. Katie Jones says:

    Face book has to give an option to completely delete a profile. Look at this blog for yet another concern.

    http://blogs.wsj.com/digits/2009/02/17/zuckerberg-on-privacy-this-is-just-the-beginning/?mod=rss_WSJBlog?mod=

  3. Ed says:

    They do not own the content in the sense you are assuming. What they are saying is that the data is going to survive a deletion and they are going to keep records of you. There are logistical and legal reasons for which they may want access to a user’s account and data, even if it has been deleted. It does not, however, mean they have the right to do whatever they want with that content, unless that is specified elsewhere in the agreement. I haven’t read all the terms of it, but judging by there current behavior, I wouldn’t worry about it.

Leave a Reply