CPU load 100%

Support for your TonidoPlug
User avatar
Wisperbird
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 4:59 am
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

CPU load 100%

Postby Wisperbird » Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:33 am

I did not restart the plug yet, but I think I'll have to.
The browsing of the drive via 10001 suddenly is very slow.
It takes about a minute to open a folder.

In admin I can see that CPU load is 100%.

I post this question because this is the second time this happens.
The plug runs smoothly for about a week, then it is slowed down.

B.T.W. the admin app is responsive as usual.

User avatar
Wisperbird
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 4:59 am
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CPU load 100%

Postby Wisperbird » Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:59 am

Update:
File transfer from USB drive to PC does not get beyond 1 MB/sec.
Normaly it is about 20-30 MB/sec.

User avatar
Wisperbird
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 4:59 am
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CPU load 100%

Postby Wisperbird » Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:49 am

After restart Plug:

Acces via 10001 is normal again.
CPU load 100%, but that I do understand.
Why the plug loses his torrent data I do not know,
But the torrent app is checking all the files again.

Please help.

B.T.W. De torrent app stil does not sort.

Tuxedo
Tonido Team
Tonido Team
Posts: 1458
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:30 pm

Re: CPU load 100%

Postby Tuxedo » Mon Dec 06, 2010 5:45 pm

When this happens, can you please SSH into your plug and run this command.

Code: Select all

 # ps -auxf
Please post the output of that command here.

User avatar
Wisperbird
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 4:59 am
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CPU load 100%

Postby Wisperbird » Tue Dec 07, 2010 9:10 am

Tuxedo wrote:When this happens, can you please SSH into your plug and run this command.

Code: Select all

 # ps -auxf
Please post the output of that command here.


The transfer rate of the plug is reasonably now, but the torrents stop frequently (display NA under ETA) and cpu load is 100%
Therefor I did post it anyway.

Using the PC (WinSeven, µtorrent) files are complete in 1 hour, whereas the plug takes days (same internet via router)

I would like it very much if I was offered a means to tell my hole story.
I feel like I'm not heard.



USER PID %CPU %MEM VSZ RSS TTY STAT START TIME COMMAND
root 2 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 [kthreadd]
root 3 0.5 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 7:35 \_ [ksoftirqd]
root 4 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [watchdog/]
root 5 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [events/0]
root 6 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [khelper]
root 9 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [async/mgr]
root 126 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [kblockd/0]
root 131 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [ata/0]
root 132 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [ata_aux]
root 136 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [ksuspend_]
root 141 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [khubd]
root 144 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [kseriod]
root 147 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? D< Dec06 0:00 \_ [kmmcd]
root 174 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S Dec06 0:00 \_ [khungtask]
root 175 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S Dec06 0:00 \_ [pdflush]
root 176 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S Dec06 0:09 \_ [pdflush]
root 177 0.4 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 5:57 \_ [kswapd0]
root 223 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [aio/0]
root 236 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [nfsiod]
root 245 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [jfsIO]
root 246 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [jfsCommit]
root 247 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [jfsSync]
root 248 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [crypto/0]
root 437 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [mtdblockd]
root 452 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [ubi_bgt0d]
root 453 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [orion_spi]
root 522 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [usbhid_re]
root 528 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [rpciod/0]
root 534 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [ubifs_bgt]
root 537 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [scsi_eh_0]
root 538 1.3 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 18:09 \_ [usb-stora]
root 1169 0.0 0.0 0 0 ? S< Dec06 0:00 \_ [kstriped]
root 1 0.0 0.3 3028 1952 ? Ss Dec06 0:01 /sbin/init
root 651 0.0 0.0 2156 408 ? S<s Dec06 0:00 /sbin/udevd --d
root 1263 0.0 0.0 2012 308 ? S<s Dec06 0:00 dhclient3 -e IF
root 1463 0.0 0.0 1596 492 tty4 Ss+ Dec06 0:00 /sbin/getty 384
root 1464 0.0 0.0 1596 492 tty5 Ss+ Dec06 0:00 /sbin/getty 384
root 1468 0.0 0.0 1596 492 tty2 Ss+ Dec06 0:00 /sbin/getty 384
root 1469 0.0 0.0 1596 492 tty3 Ss+ Dec06 0:00 /sbin/getty 384
root 1470 0.0 0.2 2856 1208 ? Ss Dec06 0:00 /bin/bash /root
root 1479 0.0 0.1 2792 908 ? S Dec06 0:00 \_ su root -c
root 1483 0.0 0.2 3772 1136 ? S Dec06 0:00 \_ bash -c
root 1484 0.0 0.1 3780 656 ? S Dec06 0:00 \_ bas
root 1485 13.4 8.0 316836 41524 ? Sl Dec06 185:29 \_
root 1474 0.0 0.0 1596 492 tty6 Ss+ Dec06 0:00 /sbin/getty 384
root 1476 0.0 0.0 1596 492 ttyS0 Ss+ Dec06 0:00 /sbin/getty 115
syslog 1514 0.0 0.1 1924 680 ? Ss Dec06 0:00 /sbin/syslogd -
root 1532 0.0 0.0 1888 464 ? S Dec06 0:00 /bin/dd bs 1 if
root 1553 0.0 0.2 5576 1132 ? Ss Dec06 0:00 /usr/sbin/sshd
root 10484 0.2 0.5 8616 2676 ? Ss 14:29 0:00 \_ sshd: root@
root 10492 0.1 0.3 4220 1744 pts/0 Ss 14:30 0:00 \_ -bash
root 10516 0.0 0.1 2804 1012 pts/0 R+ 14:31 0:00 \_ ps
root 1572 0.0 0.2 7400 1364 ? Ss Dec06 0:00 /usr/sbin/nmbd
root 1574 0.0 0.2 13236 1500 ? Ss Dec06 0:00 /usr/sbin/smbd
root 1601 0.0 0.1 13236 768 ? S Dec06 0:00 \_ /usr/sbin/s
root 8479 2.7 0.7 13788 3728 ? S 09:27 8:19 \_ /usr/sbin/s
root 1603 0.0 0.1 3396 784 ? Ss Dec06 0:00 /usr/sbin/cron
root 1626 74.6 0.2 3020 1484 ? R<s Dec06 1031:07 /sbin/mount.nt
root 1657 0.0 0.0 1596 492 tty1 Ss+ Dec06 0:00 /sbin/getty 384

It started with syntax is bogus.
I used ps -auxf
CPU load is still 100%

Tuxedo
Tonido Team
Tonido Team
Posts: 1458
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:30 pm

Re: CPU load 100%

Postby Tuxedo » Tue Dec 07, 2010 1:09 pm

Hi,
Looks like mount.ntfs takes most of the CPU.
root 1626 74.6 0.2 3020 1484 ? R<s Dec06 1031:07 /sbin/mount.nt
It uses 75% cpu. This is way high for a IO bound process. If your external HDD is NTFS format, then that is what is causing the issue.
High CPU usage for NTFS module could be caused by lot of reasons:
-Most common reason is the fragmentation on the drive.
- Inefficient block size set on the FS format. For example block size (cluster size) smaller than 4096 bytes will be bad on performance.
- Some compression defined on the NTFS drive


Try defragmenting the drive and check. BTW, linux native partitions such as ext3, ext4 will not have these fragmentation issues and also more robust than the ported FS modules such as NTFS. Try using an ext3 disk if you have one handy.

User avatar
Wisperbird
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 4:59 am
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CPU load 100%

Postby Wisperbird » Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:36 am

Tuxedo wrote:Hi,
Looks like mount.ntfs takes most of the CPU.
root 1626 74.6 0.2 3020 1484 ? R<s Dec06 1031:07 /sbin/mount.nt
It uses 75% cpu. This is way high for a IO bound process. If your external HDD is NTFS format, then that is what is causing the issue.
High CPU usage for NTFS module could be caused by lot of reasons:
-Most common reason is the fragmentation on the drive.
- Inefficient block size set on the FS format. For example block size (cluster size) smaller than 4096 bytes will be bad on performance.
- Some compression defined on the NTFS drive


Try defragmenting the drive and check. BTW, linux native partitions such as ext3, ext4 will not have these fragmentation issues and also more robust than the ported FS modules such as NTFS. Try using an ext3 disk if you have one handy.

Hello Tuxedo,
I suppose I'll have to defrag it on a Windows machine since it is NTFS, but it does not address the issue of libtorrent checking all the files after a reboot.
Is there a tool to format a drive in ext3/ext4 on a windows machine.
How can I copy the personal settings to this new drive, or can I just attach it.

Wisperbird.
P.S. When will the torrent app be able to sort files by name.
The arrow suggests that he does, but he does not.

P.P.S. Sorry to notice that no one at CodeLathe is interested in my story.

User avatar
madhan
Admin Tonidoid
Admin Tonidoid
Posts: 8578
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:13 am
Location: Dallas, USA
Contact:

Re: CPU load 100%

Postby madhan » Wed Dec 08, 2010 9:25 am

P.P.S. Sorry to notice that no one at CodeLathe is interested in my story.


Why do you say that? Tuxedo is on the CodeLathe team!

User avatar
Wisperbird
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 4:59 am
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CPU load 100%

Postby Wisperbird » Wed Dec 08, 2010 10:10 am

Because I asked specifically on my post of the ps -aux output for means to tell my hole story.

To give you two examples of that story,

I posted that I have one drive on the plug but still see disk2part1 in explorer. Not in admin by the way.

USB drives.jpg
USB drives.jpg (10.6 KiB) Viewed 1333 times

I found out myself that it is the internal memory, since after uploading some photo's I could no longer update.
I posted that creating a account can be done twice, but the second account does not work and the second password becomes the password of root.

Maybe it is my limited knowledge of your language, but I don't feel heard.

dongadoy
Guru Tonidoid
Guru Tonidoid
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 9:28 pm
Location: Framingham, MA, USA

Re: CPU load 100%

Postby dongadoy » Thu Dec 09, 2010 9:21 am

Regarding the disk2part1 issue, I believe that's just how it works. I agree that leaving that old mount point hanging around causes confusion. You may want to ask for a change in the Feature Requests forum. Maybe we need an auto-dismount feature to go with the plug's auto-mount feature.


Return to “TonidoPlug Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests